h1

It’s In The Words

July 19, 2010

Many have commented on my unique style of writing. For any writer (amateur or not), it’s always nice to hear such a compliment, as it means that my writing isn’t stale. ;-)

I have had some formal training in writing, but I wasn’t doing too well in the courses, because I often tend to break the rules of writing. I had annoyed my teachers ALL THE TIME! And I was also annoyed, getting back my assignments all marked up with complaints and notes of, “Add more detail here, Danielle!” in the margins. :-/

The formal way of writing drove me nuts! It’s too stiff and too many rules on how to be “proper”, much like a formal party at the President’s estate! I felt stifled, this way. I knew for an fact that, if I went writing pro, my books weren’t going to be read by high society or intellectual giants/billionaires. My books would most likely be read by the working class stiffs, the weird kids on the block, and everyday average people, just like me. So, it felt like I was preparing to go to a pool party, in a tuxedo. :-/

Also, I don’t add in much details into my writings (especially fiction), because I want to give the reader some room and credit for their own imagination. I don’t really care what color the dress that my main heroine, Maggie, is wearing. Or what kind of boots she has on, under that long silky dress… or what kind of silk the dress is made of and what part of the world it was manufactured from. I rather the reader make up their own minds on those trivial details. What matters to me is that I get the important details right, that is conducive to the story, and important to the plot and message. Like the fact that she’s carrying a huge AK-47, wearing a flak jacket (you choose the color and make) equipped with grenades, and saving a group of preschoolers from an invasion of swamp monsters.

The one thing that has annoyed me most about some books, is the over detailing of clothing or items around the characters. These details don’t necessarily have any bearing on the overall story, imho, and are never mentioned again in the book. So, it seems like “fillers” to me, to add up word count. And I hate when an author TELLS ME what color a dress should be, in my own mind, when that detail does not tie into anything important later on. In other words, if later in the story, the color of Maggie’s dress would be her own down-fall, then it would be important to mention in the start that the dress is red. Because later, it’s the red color that gets her spotted by the swamp monsters, in contrast of the thick gray fog of the marsh. However, if she goes through the whole book and is not spotted by the color of her dress, or her dress is not ever mentioned again, what is the point of naming it’s color in the first place? I have faith that readers won’t fall apart, if I don’t add that detail, yelling at the book, “Oh, my god! I can’t read on! I have no idea what color Maggie’s dress is!!! Ahh!” Instead, there will be lots of fan-art of Maggie online, wearing all kinds of rainbow colored dresses and that’s fine by me. I love self expression and interpretation. :-)

But… it wasn’t okay with my teachers… oh, well. :-/

I did have to drop out of the courses… not because I was annoyed and would have surely failed. I would have rode that wave, as long as I could, till it’s end. But, other things came up in life, and sadly I had no choice but to let that part of my life go. Maybe someday, I’ll go back and give them hell. :-p

Another thing about my writing, online, I often express myself the same way that I speak in person. I have a LOT of catch-phrases that I use online… and people are always shocked when they hear me say them in person. No, it’s not just for show, people. I really do use these phrases offline too. Here is an list:

Coolies – This one was a made-up word by my sister… I stole it. It’s pronounced, “cool-lee-s”. It’s a dorky way to say, “cool” or “awesome”.

Gah! – This one was actually stolen from Coco (Conan O’Brien), back when I began watching his late-night show, as a teen. It pretty much means “D’oh” or “You’ve got me, you bastard!” And it’s often said with laughter at the end.

Feh! – Instead of saying “whatever”, which that word annoys me to NO end because too many teens use it like water, I rather use this word. It’s a flippant wave-off to a subject, person, place, or thing.

Meh – Different from “feh”, it means a shrugging of the shoulders and what I really mean to say is, “It’s okay… but it’s not great.”

Huh… – It’s not really an question with the dots at the end, it’s more of me realizing someone’s point of view, with wonder.

Ha! – Not all that amused (just a little), but mostly a dry-laugh, soaked in sarcasm.

Pfft – This one requires some spit to pronounce! And it also have a double meaning. When I try not to laugh, “pfft” will slip out. It also serves as lazy way of saying “Feh” sometimes too.

I have more, but I rather keep those secrets to myself. :-p

I also have a habit of writing, like I’m having an conversation with the reader. That is my default style. When it comes to telling a story or sharing information, I see it as something personal. So, I never address my writings as if speaking to a crowd, but really as speaking to one individual at a time. Yes, it’s very hippy, man. But hey, it’s me. ;-)

-D

Leave a Reply

