h1

Past Old Habits

August 18, 2010

I use to be an pack-a-day cigarette smoker, for six years. I say “use to be”, because I did quit in the first week of February 2010. It’s been six months now and I’m still going strong! Though, it’s not the easiest thing in the world, to quit an addiction. I mean, it’s TOUGH, and I’m sure that’s an understatement too. The words “hell” and “nightmarish” comes to mind also.  However, the benefits to quitting outweighs the struggles. :-)

I had very bad asthma, caused by smoking too much. Before the habit, I never had breathing or lung issues. So, yes… cigarettes can cause asthma and a lot of other nasty health problems. Now that I’ve quit, I haven’t had an asthma attack in months! So, it is very WORTH it to quit smoking, by all means.

But, the purpose of this post is… I have a poem that I had written before, just two days before I actually took that step to quit. I feel like reposting it here, as I got rid of the old blog I once had it on. It’s silly, but it made my step toward quitting a lot easier. Enjoy! :-D

=My Ode To Nicotine=

Farewell, my long time friend!
We had met at the tender age of 23…
I have enjoyed your company, of your rich of flavor taste
The smooth menthol of your embrace!
On my happy days, we would play many times a day.
It started off as a giggle, every few hours…
Then every hour….
Then every five minutes, sometimes twice, as the years rolled on.
We’ve made many of people choke and wrinkle their noses in our presence,
Laughing at our own inside joke, of the funk!
You were there for me, my only friend, in good times and in bad.
When I was afraid and nervous, you were there…
When I was sad and in tears, you were there…
When I was frustrated or unsettled, you were there.
When I was pissed off, pacing the floor, you were there!
After every meal or snack, I turned to you.
Morning coffee was more fun, with you by my side, multiple times!
Between every great point that I wrote down, you were my break.
I said good night to you and good morning!
But, we were not meant to be…
You choked my lungs and make them sick….
You put me in the hospital a few times… so very cruel.
You interrupted my sleep, often, stopping my breath.
And made others take notice of me, as I would fall into raspy coughing fits!
Plenty of times, you robbed my pockets bare!
So… we must part ways.
It was fun while it lasted, but we must never see each other again!
You’re in my clothes, my hair, my everything…
And for a very long while, you’ll be in my thoughts and in my dreams.
But, we must let go of each other, now…
Please don’t cry… *sob-sob*… I will miss you too!
Farewell, my friend…
And thanks for all the memories.

-D

Leave a Reply

