h1

Personality Types!

September 20, 2010

I’m not really into psychology too much, but I do find it interesting. I just don’t believe in casting people in definite boxes of personality types, as not everyone can or does fit exactly into these categories within the holy book of therapists, the book of DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders). The fact is, everyone in the world has a little of each detail of every mental disorder listed in that book. :-/

However, I do find the personality types interesting and treat them as a clue into the human condition. Not holy writ or a hard fact, but as a fascinating idea. Many enjoy taking the little personality quizzes online, based on the Sixteen Personality Scale, and sharing their results on any and all social networking sites. So, it is good fun. ;-)

My personality type is: INFP (Introverted Feeling with Extroverted Intuition)… but I also have a little of ISFP (Introverted Feeling with Extroverted Sensing) mixed in too. So, these personality type quizzes are not the most realiable… but still fun. :-p

The meaning of my types are as followed:

INFP (Introverted Feeling with Extroverted Intuition) – Quiet, reflective, and idealistic. Interested in serving humanity. Well-developed value system, which they strive to live in accordance with. Extremely loyal. Adaptable and laid-back unless a strongly-held value is threatened. Usually talented writers. Mentally quick, and able to see possibilities. Interested in understanding and helping people.

ISFP  (Introverted Feeling with Extroverted Sensing) – Quiet, serious, sensitive and kind. Do not like conflict, and not likely to do things which may generate conflict. Loyal and faithful. Extremely well-developed senses, and aesthetic appreciation for beauty. Not interested in leading or controlling others. Flexible and open-minded. Likely to be original and creative. Enjoy the present moment.

And there may be a third one too, which sounds a lot like me, of ISFJ(Introverted Sensing with Extroverted Feeling). Hence, personality types and quizzes are just fun, for me. If I took them too seriously, I would be VERY confused and worried that I suffer from Multiple Personality Disorder. Which I don’t… I think… :-o

But interestingly enough,  all of my types have something in common too! Introverted (“still waters run deep”), with an extroverted passion, and highly interested in understanding and helping others. Each type differ in how a person’s takes in information and shares it, and also artistic interactions. For example, one says I’m good writer and the other says I’m good appreciator of art. I am both… though, I doubt the “talented writer” part. I’m OKAY, but not great. :-p

Anyhoo, feel free to look up your type here: The Sixteen Personality Types 

Find your own personality type (or types) and have fun.  I believe that no test or person can tell you who you are… only YOU know who you are and where you stand. :-)

-D

2 comments

  1. Yes, those two types sound like you very much :) ESPECIALLY the writing part :)


  2. Heehee! I did read that one and though it sounded familiar. I love to write and is always writing. Still… not saying that I am talented or anything. XD



Leave a Reply

