h1

Letter To The President

September 27, 2010

I have found the White House address online, during this weekend. I’ve decided that maybe I should write a letter to the President of this country, in a last-ditch effort to get my concerns addressed. I know for a fact that the President gets millions of letters and that my letter may never reach his desk. And even if it does, it may wind up in the “circular file”, meaning the trashcan. But, I have to try, regardless. :-p

The following is my letter to him, which I will send in snail-mail, once I get the postage for it. I have edited out my personal information on it for this blog, the first few sentences explaining my full name and who I am. I never trust to put my personal information on the internet, for my own protection. I do warn you, this letter is pretty long, of course. :-)

Dear Mr. President,
(edited out personal information) – I had not been a part of politics in my youth and even at the legal age of voting, I did not vote and left the choice up to others, not really caring about who was in office or not. It wasn’t until the last Bush administration, that I became disappointed and concern about how the country was being handled. Also I had some guilt, as I didn’t take part or voice my vote in the last election, leaving it up to others to decide for me. And the people voted for a President not once, but twice, that had caused a lot of mess for this nation and affected everyone. So, by the time the new elections started, I decided to register to vote and not simply sit by and let others make a decision for me anymore. I was age 27, at the time, following the debates of the summer. The candidates were you, Mr. Obama, Mrs. Hilary Clinton, and John McCain. I must admit, I was very new to politics, in the dark to political terms and parties. I had to do a lot of  research, while following the debates, in order to keep up with the topics. Even today,  I still do not have a political party that I am strongly for.

But, I had followed the debates closely, as this was going to be my first time voting, ever. I wanted to make a clear and right choice, so that I would not merely be a complainant toward a current leader or his choices for the country, like I were for the Bush administration. Sure, I voiced a lot on internet forums on how much I didn’t like the last President’s policies and bad choices, yet I never voted for him or his opponent, as I had left my choice up to others. It was shameful to me and hypocritical, so this time I decided to take part and I wanted a CHANGE. You and Hilliary offered it, in your arguments and debates, your nicely written speeches, and strong convictions. So did McCain, but then he added an running mate, which I was not confident in nor liked. Also, he failed to touch on the subjects that matters most to me, so that’s how McCain had lost my interests.

I was honestly torn between you and Mrs. Clinton, but when Clinton was out of the the running, the obvious choice was you, Mr. Obama. I followed all of your debates, visited your campaign sites, loved the debates of your running mate, Vice President Biden. Whatever I couldn’t understand in jargon, I looked it up immediately, I educated myself on politics to the best of my ability. I wanted my vote to count and to mean something. In the autumn of 2008, I went voting for you, which was a huge feat, because I suffer from Social Anxiety Disorder. I had to stand in line for an hour and a half, in a crowd of people to vote, which is very difficult for a person with my disability. But even in my fears, I kept telling myself, “I can do this. This is important! I must make it through to vote for the man who is going to help heal this nation and make it better for everyone. Not just for me and my family, but for ALL people.” I made it though, I voted, and I went off to visit my therapist that day, ecstatic that I had made it and voted for the first very time!

And that night, I watched the tallying of the votes nervously, praying feverishly that you would win. And when you did, my legs turned to jelly, I was shaken.  I woke up my sleeping sister and could only mutter to her, “Obama won…”, my breath taken away. I had voted for a change, along with many others, and our voices counted! I had never been a part of something like that before! I was elated.

But, then came a time when the celebration and party was over. I had waited patiently for you to come through on the promises of your campaign: Bringing home the troops from Iraq, going after the real hot-spot of Terrorism in Afghanistan and stopping the real people involved with 9-11, a better health-care system, a healing of our fallen economy, more jobs available for people, and the DreamAct: which will give young Hispanics a chance to become legal US citizens. Not to mention, less oil and clean burning coal.

I had believed in your convictions, I was so sure that you were a man with a plan. I knew that everything wouldn’t be put into place, right away, as there are so many issues. But I had faith that in two years, many of those things would be at least actively worked on, moving forward toward completion. And it’s been almost two years, yet the only “change” that has been delivered is that the troops were bought home, finally and after a longer wait than you had previously promised. And we have a new health-care system, which is rickety (full of holes and not perfected, by a long shot) at best. There are no jobs and my city is falling under heavily in debt, to the point that our Mayor keeps trying to cut Sanitation or the Fire Department, to keep the city afloat. If you talk with anyone in my city, they will tell you that lay-offs are rampant and if a person wants a job, they have to travel way outside of the city to get one. But even if a person is able to travel to another state for a job, it isn’t a guaranteed that they will be employed, as there too many people needing jobs and not enough jobs to go around. Where are the new jobs promised and why are people still losing their homes? Meanwhile, big business are getting too many bail-outs, while the rest of us are suffering still…

Not only that, the DreamAct is stalled and racial lines are being drawn all over this country. There is a gross political game being played with the lives of human beings, young people, who just want a chance to be apart of our country. To get better education here or to help serve in our armed forces, to fight for us! And it seems that both parties, Democrats and Republicans are holding the bill as a weapon to further their own agendas and personal stances. What about the lives involved? Does anyone care about these students?

Religious wars are breaking out in this country, as Muslims are NOW coming under heavy fire, due to what a group of religious extremist did to us on 9-11, 2001. I cannot express how horrified and disturbed I was, to see so many blogs and forums of hate being created by the thousands on the internet, of groups planning to burn Qur’an or quoting, “We shouldn’t stop with that, we should burn down Mosques too! Let’s take back this nation, body by body!”. No one is stopping in their ignorance to realize that the crimes of 9-11 was done by monsters, who do not speak nor stand for the true religion of Islam. Even our last President has quoted to remind everyone, soon after the tragedy of that day, that the acts of 9-11 was the direct cause of religious fanatics and not the cause of Muslim faith.

There are so many civil rights being trampled on, in this nation, and we’re fighting among ourselves. Meanwhile, there are a lot of bad people in the world, who would like nothing more than to blow our country into kingdom come. While we’re fighting among ourselves and political games are being played, these dark forces are gathering and planning with one mind, organized and unified, getting ready for their war against us. And they don’t care if we’re Black, White, Hispanic, or so on. They don’t care which religion we are. They see us all as Americans, the enemy, and this war isn’t over. It’s only just started!

I am afraid. I am worried for the future of America. I do believe that you can do more to fix this situation, Mr. President. Or at least put an stop to the in-fighting we have here, so more pressing matters can be addressed, like fixing the economy, the health-care system, and gathering more jobs and resources for the everyday working Americans. No money and no work, equals a rise in crime and criminal activities, after all. Also, we need to focus more on Terrorism and protecting our country, as more terrorists attacks are bound to happen. I fear that another 9-11 is not far from happening again, being that the ones responsible are still out there and free to plot again.

I know that you can’t control the Senate, but you CAN put pressure on them to focus on certain civil-right bills. Our last President was known for pushing his ideas and the way he wanted to run the country, through the Senate. He had made his mistakes, including bringing our country’s economy to it’s knees, but he still took those bold movements. I think you should at least TRY to do some of the things you had promised, including the DreamAct, which got you votes from the Hispanic community. They had believed in you and depended on you for help. Don’t let them down!

Sure, many Republican are against it and are shooting down the bill. But just as bad, the Democrats are not fighting for this bill as hard as they can or should, or without a political scheme for more votes this season. I have lost my faith in Democracy, at this point, which is heart-breaking. Also, when that church in Florida wanted to burn the Qur’an and no one put an end to it, even though it threaten the safety of our troops in Afghanistan and our National Security,  I’ve lost a little more faith in your administration. I am grateful that the leader of that church didn’t go through with it, but it wasn’t from the intervention of you or your administration.

You must be a leader, Mr. President. You can’t be everyone’s friend and your job is a lot important. And like every parent has to do with their children, you have to make some tough decisions and movements for the whole of the nation, and not give into trying to please everyone. We are your children, in a sense, and America is a family. But the way things are now, you’re in a stand-still and neither party is seeing results. The Democrats are unhappy, the Republicans are unhappy, and people like me (the average people who don’t have any party affiliate at this point or care that much about politics, we just want peace and fairness!), are in despair. Please DO SOMETHING!

Respectfully,

(signature)

Thanks for reading this three page letter, even if President Obama never does. :-)

-D

4 comments

  1. WOW! I’m speechless! I’ve never read a letter that moving and well-written before!
    I always thought that writing fiction is what you’re best at when it comes to writing, but this letter is AMAZING!


  2. Thanks! :-)
    Yep, I do love to write fiction… but when it comes to real-life things and situations, I’m more passionate in my writing. It’s because I FEEL it more and connect to the words, from the heart.

    Thanks for reading. :-)


  3. I couldn’t agree more. I thought that the change would be for the better, but all the changes have been incomplete and for the most part for the worse. I worry everyday that things will get so bad that the dream that is the USA will fade away into history as another fallen nation. Things will change one way or another whether it’s through political channels or full blown rebellion against the government. Everyone is so angry and unhappy with the state of our nation. The greed and selfishness of the policies of the last 30 years is coming together in the perfect storm of political mismanagement. If the USA were a business we would have shuttered a long time ago. What ever happened to common sense? It seems to not have a place in politics. It’s frustrating beyond belief to know that you have no control over what happens. It seems to me that a kindergartener has more sense than some of our elected officials. I’m tired of talk. Now is the time for action before the people rise up and start a revolution and it’s too late to save us.


  4. Yours is a common war-cry that I hear throughout this nation, thehooded. Especially among the younger generations. It does seem like an revolution is coming, if history has ever taught us anything. The neat thing is, in time, all of the dinosaurs of our government will grow old and wither away. This country will really be inherited by the future generations. It’s good that the kindergarten has more common sense, because one day, that child may be the President and not make the same stupid mistakes as our current politicians. In the meanwhile, I can only hope, pray, and fight on against the broken system and it’s corrupt politics.

    Incidentally, your speech reminded me of another powerful speech for change, from a young man who fought against the unjust system. His name was Mario Savio. :-)



Leave a Reply

