h1

A 80’s Kind Of Kid!

September 30, 2010

Okay… many argue (older than me) that I’m way too young to remember or appreciate the 80’s. Granted, I was six years old in 1986, but rest assure, I remember the era well and it was actually the happiest years of my youth. When I was five, I had enjoyed late-night music videos on MTV, with my mother and older brother. I was suppose to be asleep, but was stubborn, and sat on the floor in front of a huge tv with my family. I remember clearly of a video called, “Sarah” by Starship, that had aired one night. My mother told me that the song was about me, as it happens to be my middle one. And my face lit up, “Really, mommy?!” I felt special, too young to realize that the song wasn’t really made for me. But for the longest, I thought it was. ;-)

I grew up to many of the songs of that era, bouncing around my room to “Girls Just Want To Have Fun” by Cindi Lauper; enjoying “99 Luftballons” – which I had called the “Balloon Song”, not learning of it’s political message until YEARS later;  falling in love with Sting’s voice in “Every Breath You Take” – even though that’s a song about stalking; and leaning all the words to “When Doves Cry” by Prince, before he became “formerly known” or that symbol thingy. :-p

And most of all, my first crushes was on the lead singer in the Ah-ha video “Take On Me” and anything David Bowie! David Bowie was an sexy man and still is!!! He was also my first start of loving blondes, from his role in the movie “The Labyrinth”! :-)

I have always wanted the leg warmers, the fishnet gloves that Madonna had, the pink and punky hair! Of course, my mother said, “NO!” to all of that, for a little girl of age 6 -10. I only wish that I was an teen in that era, then I may have gotten my way. :-p

Many insist that I should be more into the 90’s as that was my teen years. But my teen years were hell, the 80’s lasted too short for me, and in most of the 90’s I stayed in the 80’s still, going through my teen agnst with Depeche Mode or “Don’t Dream It’s Over” by Crowded House. Not to mention a lot of U2 and their earlier stuff! “Rebel Yell”, by Billy Idol, was my teen rebellious war-cry.

I enjoyed the movies of “Ghostbusters”, “The Breakfast Club”, “Ferris Bueller Day Off”, “Back To The Future”. “A Nightmare On Elm Street”, “Big”,  and “Howard The Duck”! Though, Freddy Krueger will forever be the scariest and best monster of all horror movies in history, for me. He scared the crap out of me, as a kid!  Yet… I never did stop watching those horror movies. :-p

The 80’s ROCKED, more than any era so far, in my humble opinion. ;-)

-D

4 comments

  1. It was really interesting to read about your childhood and your appreciation of the 80s :D
    I always see myself as a 90s kid, although I’ve been born in 91. I don’t know.. 2000 just doesn’t have that many characteristics as the 70s,80s and 90s..
    Well let’s face it.. We’re both from another century :P


    • True. XD
      The year 2000 is more apathetic than any other era, unfortunately. :-/
      I blame all of the robots invented. :-p


  2. Unlike both of you I came of age thru that era (somebody had too!) and musically while every era has its’ dross it was a very interesting time especially thru the early 80’s when it seemed there was a new look and a new sound every week from the English and for that matter even Canadian New Wave (Martha and the Muffins), the New Romantics over in the UK, a brace of tuneful hard rockers(Loverboy, Def Leppard, Poison and the late Dio to mention a few), early more socially aware hip hop (‘The Message’ remains a favourite of mine).
    Probably most important of all music in it’s varying forms was a large SHARED experience, we lined up to buy new releases and listened to the same radio stations so we chatted about it.
    A #1 45 in the UK meant at least a half million copies were sold, afar cry than the 10,000 downloads of today!
    Regards Caroline of ‘The Fossil’ scene.


    • Coolies! :-)
      Yep, I had missed out on the days of waiting in line for a cool new record. It know that a lot of comradely was made in those record store lines, as youth stood and waited for the new album to be released. I do remember the years of vinyl, but I was too young to stand in line for it myself. So, I listened to whatever records my parents bought home or the records from my oldest brother, who was a teen in those days. But the 80’s was the most emotionally-free years, in my opinion. And it was the most wacky of the eras. ;-)



Leave a Reply

