h1

A Twisted Wonderland

October 11, 2010

In the year 2000, I saw this game sitting on the shelf, in a office supply store. I was not there to buy computer games, oddly enough, but I was in that store  to help my mother shop for office supplies. So, I walked down an aisle, looking for a print cartridge for a printer, and that’s when I passed this dark-looking box. It had a picture with a little girl wielding a knife, standing next to an emaciated and heavily tattooed cat, and in the background Behon this box was a blood red heart, suggesting that something sinister was happening in their world.

I knew from the girl’s blue dress and the huge twisted letters of “Alice”, that this was an Alice In Wonderland game. But, what happened to Alice? Why was she so dark and dangerous now? And why was the Cheshire Cat so skeletal like and more creepy than usual? What had happened in Wonderland? And, I stared at the box for several minutes, trying to answer those questions in my mind. I don’t know how long I had stood there, but after a while, I did snap myself out of it. I grabbed the box and went rushing to ask my mother to buy it for me.

Needless to say, I came home with the game that day and fell into a twisted and darker version of my favorite childhood world. In this game, Wonderland has fallen under a new horrifying darkness of The Red Queen, triggered by Alice’s own descent into madness over the loss of her parents. This is NOT a game for children, rated M for Mature, as the game is very violent and bloody, with some disturbing images. 

The sweet little Alice is not present in this game, instead a very cold and knife-wielding Alice is the main character. Her dress is obviously splatted with blood, as she hacks her way through her foes. And the Cheshire Cat is more glib and apathetic than usual, dropping in with riddles for Alice from time to time. Many of his quotes, I do love! For example, “Those who say there’s nothing like a nice cup of tea for calming the nerves never had ‘real’ tea. It’s like a syringe of adrenaline straight to the heart!”, “Here’s a riddle: When is a croquet mallet like a billy club? I’ll tell you: Whenever you want it to be.”, and “I’m afraid I have to expel a rather ferocious hairball. You’re on your own, girl.”

Of course, the most known characters of the story are included in this game, as twisted versions of themselves. For her allies: The White Rabbit, The Cheshire Cat, The March Hare, The Dormouse, The Caterpillar… and a few other lesser known characters from Lewis Carroll’s book, like The Mock Turtle and The White King and Queen. The villains are: The Dutches, Tweedle Dee And Tweedle Dum, The Jabberwock, and The Mad Hatter. My favorite Mad Hatter quote: “I like what I do, as the same as I do what I like, don’t you agree? So I do!” ;-)

This game also has a lot of dark music, composed by Chris Vrenna. It’s another album that I enjoy listening to, during the October month. For example, here’s one of my favorite songs called: Skool Daze

There is also an Alice sequel, planned to be released sometime in 2011. Not only for the PC, but it will be available on gaming consoles, like Playstation3 and XBox 360. And of course, I will have it pre-ordered, once the release date is announced. There is also a movie planned, based on the PC game, but no word of it’s development. That’s a movie I would love to see, for sure! :-)

-D

2 comments

  1. I’ve heard of the movie. Sarah Michelle Gellar was the one behind trying to make the movie, but for some reason it’s never made it that far. I’d love to see it as a movie too. I know it would be way better than that Tim Burton Alice movie that just came out. I hadn’t heard that they were making a sequel though. That’s really cool. I friggin’ love this game. It’s dark and twisted and even funny at times. It’s a really interesting take on the whole story. Hopefully it will generate some more buzz for making the movie. :D


  2. Yep, Thehooded! I heard the same thing too about Sarah Michelle Gellar! But then the movie planning just went flat, after that. :-/

    But yep, there will be a sequel to the game, and available for consoles too. Which, I admit, I’m very addicted to my PlayStation3, so it will be the perfect game for me to have! :-D



Leave a Reply

