h1

The Girl With Funny Name

October 14, 2010

I am a big fan of this 2009 animated movie, “Coraline”. Though, like many of the characters in the story, I did make the mistake of calling her “Caroline”, because I am use to that name. The spelling and pronunciation of “Coraline” is much different and I have never met anyone by that name, in real life. But now I seem to be stuck on calling everyone, with the common version of the name, “Coraline”.  Coraline… or Caroline? It’s all blurred together in my mind. :-p

But, besides the confusing name, this is a very good story and movie. It’s about a little girl, who is trying to adjust to a new house, in a new town, away from her old friends. She feels a lot lonely, as her parents are too busy with work to pay any attention to her. She then meets her very weird neighbors, but still feels ignored and lonely. After a while, she finds a hidden door leading to an alternate and better life. But, is it really better?

I like this movie, because the final message is, “The grass is not always greener on the other side!”. And to appreciate those in your life, as imperfect as they are. This is something that I always try to remind myself, in my life, to not get too envious or wanting of what I see on the other side of the fence. Things are never what they seem to be. :-/

This movie is not for the smallest of children, as it has very dark overtones and could be too scary for them. But the cool thing is that Dakota Fanning does the voice of Coraline. And the surreal music track is great, to the point that I have bought the album for my i-Pod. And I also have the movie too, in it’s entirety, for my i-Pod as well. This way, I can watch Coraline whenever I wish and wherever. Yes, I am a nerd! :-p

If you haven’t seen this movie, it may be a good idea to buy (or rent) it, this autumn. It makes for a very good light-weight Halloween movie for children, and also those who get too scared with the hardcore stuff. ;-)

-D

2 comments

  1. Have the 2D dvd and agree it’s not for the little ones but agree it has an important message.
    Just don’t get my name wrong, ‘kay? xD!


  2. LOL! I try not to, Coraline… I mean, Caroline! :-o



Leave a Reply

