h1

Trick Or Treat!

October 28, 2010

Halloween is near, which means it’s almost time for my annual viewing of horror-films! I’ve decided to share some (out of the massive collection dvds that I own) of the films that I enjoy viewing, while eating WAY too much candy and getting a sugar-high! Yes… the next morning, I will have a sugar hangover and regret the consumption of junk-food that will go straight to my thighs. But, Halloween is meant to be enjoyed, so I’ll worry about that stuff later. ;-)

The Exorcist (1973) – A story of a mother who’s daughter becomes possessed by a demon. She seeks help from two priests, after failing to get help for her daughter through conventional ways.  Some of the special-effects of this movie is hokey, given the time this movie was produced, but the story is very entertaining. “The power of Christ compels you!” ;-)

The Exorcism Of Emily Rose (2005) – This film is loosely based on the real life story of Anneliese Michel. Much of this film takes place in a courtroom, as a priest is bought to trial on the death of Emily Rose, after an Exorcism goes terribly wrong. There are many chilling flashbacks to that exorcism, as lawyers and the defendant recall the details in court. In other words, this is an horror film that makes you think.

The Amityville Horror – Based on the true story of the paranormal experiences of the Lutz family in Amityville, a suburban neighborhood located on the south shore of Long Island, New York. Thirteen months before the Lutz family moved into their new home in Amityville, a very troubled young man shot and murdered six family members in the house. Now the Lutz were being terrorized by the paranormal phenomenon left within the home. The truth of this story is debated, but it makes for a very entertaining movie.

The Ring (2002) – A cursed video tape is found in a cabin, with the warning of “seven days”. Once you’ve watched the tape, in seven days you will die. Two teenage girls, Katie and Becca,  joke about this tape. Until Katie winds up dead, and Becca is institutionalized in a mental hospital. The movie continues on with Katie’s 9 year old cousin, Aidan, who is visibly affected by the death. This is a nice “campy” movie, but it has it shocking moments.

Paranormal Activity (2009) – This film is in the style of “found footage”, using a home-video camera. It is a story about a young couple, Katie and Micah, who are haunted by a supernatural presence in their home. It’s very well done and the most scariest movie I have seen, in a very long time! :-)

Candyman (1992) – This film is about a woman named Helen Lyle, a graduate student who is conducting  research on Urban Legends. She learns of a legend named, “Candyman”, who is summoned by looking into a mirror and chanting his name five times. She tries out the legend herself, reciting the name in a mirror. This movie is more creepy than horrifying, but worth the watch.

Shutter (2008) – A newlywed couple moves to Japan, from New York, as the husband gains a job as an photographer. While traveling, the wife hits a woman on the road and they swerve off. They regain consciousness and find no body on the road, or even a trace of blood, so they move on. Then mysteriously, the couple began to find lights within their photos, which is later identified as “spirit photography”. The length of this movie leads up to one huge shocker of an ending! The horror punchline is totally worth it! ;-)

Carrie (1976) – This is a story about an socially outcast teenage girl, who only wishes for friends. She discovers that she has supernatural powers, which her overly-religious and abusive mother deems as powers from Satan. Carrie’s powers flair into tragedy, after she is humiliated by teachers and students on prom night. This is one of my favorite Stephen King movies.

Desperation (2004) – This is a film based on the Stephen King novel (I have read the novel also!). It’s about a cursed town called “Desperation”, located in the Nevada dessert. An sheriff from the town, collects passersby on the road, bringing them to a jailhouse and killing some. None of the captives know what has happened to the people of the town, why the sheriff has turn crazy, or which one of them will be killed next. The novel was bone-chilling, but the movie lacks some major details. But, it’s still a good representation of the story.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street (2007) – Many should know this one! It’s based on the 1979 musical, about a local barber who was wrongly sent to prison, by a corrupt judge who wanted Sweeney’s  wife and daughter for his own. Once Sweeney is freed from prison, he travels back to London, where he exacts his revenge on all who had a hand in his imprisonment, by slitting their throats in the barber chair. Their bodies are then “disposed of”, by becoming the main ingredient in Mrs. Lovette’s pies. Fun for the family! No… not really. :-p

The Omen (1976) – The infant son of a father is born in Rome, but dies in birth. The grieving father, out of concern for his wife’s mental well-being, is convinced into substituting the dead child for an orphaned baby, who’s mother died at the same moment. And throughout the movie, dark things began to happen around the adopted child, including the nanny hanging herself in tribute of the boy. This movie is worth watching! “Look at me, Damien! It’s all for you!” :-o

Now, of course there are more. But, I’ve listed the ones that stand out the most, in my collection. I want to wish everyone a very Happy Halloween! :-)

-D

4 comments

  1. My grandma let me watch “Candyman” with her when I was about 10 and it gave me nightmares for years. OMG! It left a strong impression on me. Have you ever seen “A Tale Of Two Sisters”? It’s a creepy Asian horror film that’s sort of mysterious. Me and my sister watched it three times trying to figure it out. It was pretty cool.


  2. Yeah! I was fifteen, when I first saw Candyman, and it left me afraid for weeks! LOL! Good times… :-)
    No, I haven’t heard of that one, but I do love Asian horror films! I think I will look that one up, soon. Thanks for sharing, thehooded! HUGS! :-D


  3. I watched it again a couple years ago and it really wasn’t as scary as I remembered, but it still was kind of freaky. I still don’t know if I’m brave enough to say “Candyman” three times in the mirror. LOL.

    I love Asian horror movies too! They’re some of the only scary movies that actually scare me.


  4. Ha! When I was sixteen, I was a daredevil and did say his name in a mirror! Of course, I lived to tell the tale, but I didn’t do it again since! :-p



Leave a Reply

